Trevor Noah and “The Daily Show” won 3 NAACP Image Awards


Trevor Noah is elated and full of gratitude as The Daily Show won three awards at the 2022 NAACP Image Awards.

Daily Show was named best variety series or special, while the comedian won best host (individual or ensemble) in a reality/reality competition, game show or variety series or special.

This is not the first time the show and the host have secured wins, yet it’s always a honour for Trevor.

“Thank you @NAACPImageAwards for such an incredible honour! 🙏🏾 Congrats to @thedailyshow team on 3 wins,” he wrote.

Winners were announced in several non-televised categories via streaming presentations this week.

The awards held for three nights.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Trevor Noah (@trevornoah)

Check out the winners list below for Night 3: Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2022

Outstanding Talk Series
Red Table Talk (Facebook Watch) (WINNER)
Desus & Mero (Showtime)
Hart to Heart (Peacock)
Tamron Hall (Syndicated)
The Real (Syndicated)

Outstanding Host in a Talk or News/Information (Series or Special) – Individual or Ensemble
Jada Pinkett Smith, Adrienne Banfield-Norris, Willow Smith – Red Table Talk (Facebook Watch) (WINNER)
Joy Reid – The Reidout (MSNBC)
Daniel “Desus Nice” Baker, Joel “The Kid Mero” Martinez – Desus & Mero (Showtime)
Garcelle Beauvais, Adrienne Houghton, Loni Love, Jeannie Mai Jenkins – The Real (Syndicated)
LeBron James – The Shop: Uninterrupted (HBO)

Outstanding Reality Program, Reality Competition or Game Show (Series)
Wild ‘n Out (VH1) (WINNER)
Celebrity Family Feud (ABC)
Iyanla: Fix My Life (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)
Sweet Life: Los Angeles (HBO Max)
The Voice (NBC)

Outstanding Host in a Reality/Reality Competition, Game Show or Variety (Series or Special) – Individual or Ensemble
Trevor Noah – The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Comedy Central) (WINNER)
Alfonso Ribeiro – America’s Funniest Home Videos (ABC)
Amber Ruffin – The Amber Ruffin Show (Peacock)
Cedric the Entertainer – 73rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards (CBS)
Iyanla Vanzant – Iyanla: Fix My Life (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

Outstanding Variety Show (Series or Special)
The Daily Show With Trevor Noah (Comedy Central) (WINNER)
A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
BET Awards 2021 (BET)
Dave Chappelle: The Closer (Netflix)
Savage X Fenty Show Vol. 3 (Amazon Studios)

Outstanding News/Information (Series or Special)
The Reidout (MSNBC) (WINNER)
Blood on Black Wall Street: The Legacy of the Tulsa Massacre (NBC)
NBC Nightly News With Lester Holt (NBC)
Soul of a Nation (ABC)
Unsung (TV One)

Outstanding Documentary (Television)
High on the Hog: How African American Cuisine Transformed America (Netflix) (WINNER)
1971: The Year That Music Changed Everything (Apple TV+)
American Masters: How It Feels to Be Free (PBS)
Blood Brothers: Malcolm X & Muhammad Ali (Netflix)
Insecure Documentary (HBO)

Outstanding Children’s Program
Family Reunion (Netflix) (WINNER)
Ada Twist, Scientist (Netflix)
Karma’s World (Netflix)
Raven’s Home (Disney Channel)
Waffles + Mochi (Netflix)

Outstanding Animated Series
We the People (Netflix) (WINNER)
Big Mouth (Netflix)
Peanut Headz: Black History Toonz (Kweli TV)
Super Sema (YouTube Originals)
Yasuke (Netflix)

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance (Television)
Cree Summer – Rugrats (Nickelodeon) (WINNER)
Angela Bassett – Malika: The Lion Queen (FOX)
Billy Porter – Fairfax (Amazon Studios)
Chris “Ludacris” Bridges – Karma’s World (Netflix)
Keke Palmer – Big Mouth (Netflix)

Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance – Motion Picture
Letitia Wright – Sing 2 (Universal Pictures) (WINNER)
Andre Braugher – Spirit Untamed (Universal Pictures)
Awkwafina – Raya and the Last Dragon (Walt Disney Studios)
Brian Tyree Henry – Vivo (Netflix)
Eric André – Sing 2 (Universal Pictures)

Outstanding Breakthrough Performance in a Motion Picture
Danny Boyd Jr. – Bruised (Netflix) (WINNER)
Sheila Atim – Bruised (Netflix) (WINNER)
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story (20th Century Studios)
Jalon Christian – A Journal For Jordan (Columbia Pictures)
Lonnie Chavis – The Water Man (RLJE Films)

Outstanding Breakthrough Creative (Motion Picture)
Jeymes Samuel – The Harder They Fall (Netflix) (WINNER)
Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson – Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) (Searchlight Pictures, Onyx Collective, Hulu)
Jamila Wignot – Ailey (Neon)
Liesl Tommy – Respect (Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures/United Artists Releasing)
Rebecca Hall – Passing (Netflix)

Outstanding Ensemble Cast in a Motion Picture
The Harder They Fall (Netflix) (WINNER)
Coming 2 America (Paramount Releasing/Amazon Studios)
Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros. Pictures)
King Richard (Warner Bros. Pictures)
Respect (Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures/United Artists Releasing)

Outstanding International Motion Picture
7 Prisoners (Netflix) (WINNER)
African America (Netflix)
Eyimofe (This Is My Desire) (Janus Films)
Flee (Neon/Participant)
The Gravedigger’s Wife (Orange Studio)

Outstanding Guest Performance
Maya Rudolph – Saturday Night Live (NBC) (WINNER)
Alani “La La” Anthony – The Chi (Showtime)
Christina Elmore – Insecure (HBO)
Daniel Kaluuya – Saturday Night Live (NBC)
Erika Alexander – Run the World (Starz)

Recommended for you