10 countries that have imposed travel ban in wake of Omicron outbreak



With a new variant of the Covid-19, Omicron, being declared as a variant of concern by the WHO, many countries are banning travel once again.

The latest travel bans by countries in the EU, the USA, and other countries are concentrated on African nations, including South Africa.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa, has condemned such a ban, and has said that he is deeply disappointed.

Here are the countries that have banned travel, and has barred international flights.

1. Israel

Israel has closed its borders since the the outbreak of the new variant. The country is one of the first nations to close its borders for travel after news of the new variant, Omicron. All foreigners are barred from entering into the country as of today, and this ban is expected to last for 14 days, until further news.

2. Japan

Japan is yet another country that quickly closed its borders for travel. The country has banned foreigners from entering into the country, which includes business travellers, and students. The government has said that closing the borders is only a temporary measure. Japan had earlier eased travel ban on November 8, but that has changed since the outbreak of the new variant.

3. Australia

Australia has imposed travel restrictions or has banned travellers from southern African countries. These include South Africa, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi, and Mozambique. According to the latest rules, travellers from these countries who are not Australian citizens, permanent residents, or their immediate families, will not be able to enter. On the other hand, Australian citizens, permanent residents, or their immediate families will need to go under quarantine.

4. Canada

All non-Canadian travellers coming in from Mozambique, South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, and Eswatini, will be barred from entering into the country. This rule is in force from November 12 onwards. All Canadian citizens, and permanent residents coming in from these countries will be required to follow strict protocols. Negative RT PCR test report before boarding, and test upon arrival are must. These travellers will also have to quarantine in a hotel for 14 days.

5. Italy

The country has gone ahead and imposed restrictions at its borders. Italy at this time restricts travellers from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, who have visited these countries in the last 14 days. The country has also said that starting December 6, there will be an updated form on the Italian Green Pass.

6. Indonesia

Indonesia has increased the days of quarantine from three to seven after the latest outbreak of the virus. The country has tightened restrictions for foreign travellers, and as well as Indonesians returning to the country from countries such as Botswana, Zambia, Malawi, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Eswatini, Angola, Namibia, and Hong Kong.

7. Morocco

The North African country has decided to ban all incoming international flights for a period of two weeks. The country decided to go ahead with the ban on November 29. This is the third country, alongside Japan, and Israel, to completely ban international flights.

8. Netherlands

As Omicron became a variant of concern, Netherlands decided to ban flights from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe and South Africa. The travel ban is currently in place until December 4, 2021, 23:59. All Dutch nationals, and residents are however exempted from this rule.

9. New Zealand

New Zealand has also banned travel from nine African countries, which are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique. The ban has been in place from November 28 onwards.

10. United States

Like many other countries, the United States has also banned travel from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi. However, American citizens and those who have permanent residents, can travel to the United States from the above mentioned countries. Such travelers do need to test negative before gaining entry into the country.

Recommended for you